My favorite online art supply stores

Standard

My favorite online source is Cheap Joe’s! Cheap Joe’s was founded BY an artist, Joe Miller out of Boone, NC. He started out as the local pharmacist who, midway through his career, decided he wanted to paint. Unfortunately, there was no place to purchase art supplies in Boone and he had to drive over 100 miles away to Winston Salem to purchase supplies. So, he decided to add a spot for high quality artist supplies to his shelves at Boone Drug Store. Why do I tell you this? Because, Cheap Joe’s is run like he ran that Drug Store… Super friendly and with Joe’s thumb in every pie. He keeps the prices low and the quality high. Customer satisfaction is paramount! And the Cheap Joe’s site is chock full of free online lessons, artist workshops, blogs, and tons of resources. 

Second is Jerry’s Artarama. I’ve been dealing with them for at least ten years. Low prices & fast shipping (they are also in NC), they also offer many free resources such as art lessons, technique blogs, product demo videos, contests, etc. plus, they accept PayPal.

My third favorite is Dick Blick who has an unbeatable selection and fast shipping. Dick Blick also has many free resources and their own brand of very good paints. They also accept PayPal & Amazon Payments and have a Wish List and Shopping List for registered users. The prices are a bit more expensive; however, if you can’t find it at Cheap Joe’s or Jerry’s, Dick Blick is almost certain to have it.

About artwench

I am a fine artist who has been married to the love of my life for almost thirty years. I still can't believe that he stuck around! LOL! We have one beautiful daughter who was and is a miracle in our lives. It is all about the art and MtG and, of course, the chocolate... I'm a second generation Libertarian: T.A.N.S.T.A.A.F.L. "Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things." When I'm not painting, I enjoy writing about my passions: art, theatre, music, religion, metaphysics, and politics; however, I love to celebrate all that is good, beautiful, and true... which means I'll write about whatever catches my fancy!

Leave a Reply

